4.2l engine running poorly

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2016, 05:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4.2l engine running poorly

I recently got a little single cab short bed v6 5 speed truck who's engine has recently been rebuilt. The truck doesn't run awful but it doesn't run as well as it should. For example the other day I was on the highway cruising in fourth gear going around 65 and the truck just started slowing down. I watch as it went from around 65 to 45 then decided i should speed up again and shifted down into third. To me it feels like it isn't making enough power to pull in fourth gear. Also when i was teaching my girlfriend how to drive a manual the other day she locked out the steering wheel one way and the strain it put on the power steering pump almost stalled the engine. I am very new to these trucks and I've never even worked on a v6 anything before so any help would be greatly appreciated!

--EDIT--
Forgot to mention my truck is a 1999 f150

Last edited by lilsilverbaby; 06-05-2016 at 06:12 PM. Reason: misspellling
Old 06-05-2016, 08:10 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by lilsilverbaby
I recently got a little single cab short bed v6 5 speed truck who's engine has recently been rebuilt. The truck doesn't run awful but it doesn't run as well as it should. For example the other day I was on the highway cruising in fourth gear going around 65 and the truck just started slowing down. I watch as it went from around 65 to 45 then decided i should speed up again and shifted down into third. To me it feels like it isn't making enough power to pull in fourth gear. Also when i was teaching my girlfriend how to drive a manual the other day she locked out the steering wheel one way and the strain it put on the power steering pump almost stalled the engine. I am very new to these trucks and I've never even worked on a v6 anything before so any help would be greatly appreciated!

--EDIT--
Forgot to mention my truck is a 1999 f150