Setup for 6 months won't start.

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2015, 12:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Setup for 6 months won't start.

My 2000 F150 V6 has been sitting up for about 6 months. I've just changed the water pump. Now that it's back together it won't start.

1. I've used starter fluid it it does fire up so I know it's getting spark, but it dies as the fluid is burned away.
2. It is old fuel.
3. When I turn the key to RUN, I hear a click on the fire wall.
4. I found a Schrader valve on the firewall connected to what looks like something for the injectors/fuel distribution. Not sure how to use it.
5. I pressed in the Schrader Valve and nothing happened. Not sure if it should have pressure or only when trying to start, but I hear a clicking at that spot. I need someone to be there to know for sure.

6. I'm considering draining the fuel but I've never done that before and I'm not sure if it's worth it.

Is there an additive I can put in the tank to refresh the fuel like with my lawn mower?

Otherwise, I'd like to get some advise from everyone if you would please. Thanks,

Old 12-30-2015, 04:11 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 259 Likes on 250 Posts
I would remove the fuel filter, and turn the key to ON. See if fuel comes out.

If it does, then remove and inspect the fuel filter. At this point, it wouldn't hurt to replace it if you haven't already.

If no fuel comes out, then likely your pump is shot.

How much fuel do you have in it?

Old 12-30-2015, 04:25 PM
glc
Received 756 Likes on 702 Posts
If you turn the key on, you should hear the fuel pump prime for a couple seconds, and fuel should spray out if you hit the Schrader valve. If the fuel pump won't run, check the fuel pump relay and the inertia switch behind the passenger kick panel. Also bang on the tank with a rubber mallet or your fist.

You can't refresh stale fuel, you can only put stabilizer in it before you store it. Once it's stale, it's stale.