Fuel pump issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2012, 02:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel pump issues

I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I've been having trouble off and on for more than six months with my 1999 Ford F150. I'll be running smoothly(I'm a newspaper photographer so I stop and go with my truck a lot) and I'll stop to take a picture and about 10-15 minutes later I go to start the truck but it won't start. The battery works and it acts like it's going to start but then the truck rumbles, shakes and tries to start but then finally fails. Usually if I leave it 30+ minutes just sitting there it'll finally start fine.

I took it to a local mechanic a few months ago but they couldn't get the problem to replicate. They tested the fuel pump and said it was working correctly. They told me to have it towed the next time it messed up. So a few weeks later it messed up and I had it towed. When it arrived at the mechanic's place, you guessed it, it started right up.

Until today it hasn't messed up on me for about two or three months. But it could go a week or two without failing to start. We've changed the fuses in the fuse box and that didn't help. Today I noticed when I turned on the truck(before cranking it) the fuel pump didn't seem to start but made a gurgling noise about 3 seconds after turning the car's power on(not cranking it). I don't think it's the battery because it starts it just won't stay cranked after the initial "vroom." It seems like it's the fuel pump but the mechanic tested the pressure and said it was fine, so I really don't know. I'm not good at all with vehicles so any help here would be much appreciated!

Edit: I forgot to mention there are no codes that it shows. A while back it was showing p0122 p1120 p1121 but after a few minor repairs followed by a code reset the codes haven't returned.

Last edited by elfshadowreaper; 10-23-2012 at 02:40 PM. Reason: Forgot something
Old 10-24-2012, 06:42 AM
glc