EcoBoost 3.15's towing

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 12:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EcoBoost 3.15's towing

Im new to the truck scene considering I've only owned Subaru's since I could drive. I just picked up a 2012 Eco and i think it may have the 3.15 gears. Im not at home yet but wanted some insight. I have been reading off and on while here at work about the pros and cons of lower (numericaly) gears and I'm getting a little sick to my stomach. I may have the 3.31's? I'll check later.
Anyways im looking at a few Camping trailers for my family. We have been looking for something that will sleep my wife and I, one other adult (her mom) and my three young boys. We have found three trailers that we would really like to get and the weight on all are around the 7,000-7,600lb mark. We will be camping twice a month year round and will travel through small foothills and one decent grade (San Luis Obisbo grade) to and from our destination. My question is, can I switch my gears to the 3.55 or 3.73's if i have a 4x4? is there a more cost effective way in increasing my tow capacity? I know the truck has plenty of tow power considering I have towed it through the Grape Vine with a large car trailer and a Mitsu Evo 9 in tow with absolute ease! I'm just conserned with the Transmission and the brakes. I do have the tow package though... Will i be fine with just upgrading the ECU with a programmer or will i need to swap out to larger gears?
To elaborate on my stupidity, I thought at the time that I was getting a truck with the 3.55's, the truck was transported in and my wife went down to sign for it and bring her home. After about three months of owning her I could swear I finally looked at the paperwork and saw that she signed for this truck without the gears I thought I had asked for. Dealer is playing stupid nd wont work with me.

My appologieze for being such a douche..

Last edited by Boost_Inc; 10-04-2012 at 01:35 PM.
Old 10-04-2012, 03:16 PM