Newbie Questions about E40D Transmission

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2015, 11:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie Questions about E40D Transmission

Hello all,

I got a good deal on a '92 F150, 8 cyl 4WD with an A40D transmission and drove it home. Disclaimer: this is my first truck and I've never done repairs on my own before ( ) but I've helped a buddy work on his now and then.

Now, it drove home fine, but the next day when I tried to take it in to do the registration, the engine would die as soon as I took my foot of the brake in reverse. I checked the codes and it threw a 624, looked it up online and my best educated guess was "EPC solenoid." Took the tranny pan off, a more competent neighbor of mine (cert chevy mechanic for 25 years or so) checked the solenoids, and sure enough the EPC solenoid is fried up real crispy.

So having seen this video (
), I'm thinking this is a fairly simple fix mechanically speaking, just some more money I'm throwing at this thing. My neighbor the Chevy guy, though, he's looking at it like it's more complicated than he was expecting.

I guess my question is this: is the video right? do I really just need to order a freagin solenoid pack and switch it out like this guy does? Or is there another procedure I need to do here that I'm missing?

(P.S.: tranny pan is back on with a new gasket for the time being just to keep the dust out of the works, I am under adult supervision after all )

Thanks

Eli

Old 02-15-2015, 02:17 AM
Fried EPC Solenoid E4OD

The Electronic Pressure Control (EPC) Solenoid is a variable force type solenoid that regulates transmission line pressure. With This malfunction you don't even want to run the engine as it could lead to severe transmission damage.