1995 F150 Clutch replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2014, 12:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1995 F150 Clutch replacement

Hey guys,

I've got a 1995 F150xlt 5.0L 4x4 and I need to replace the clutch. I've never done a clutch on a truck before, only on a few small cars like toyotas, so any advice you have would be much appreciated. I do have access to ShopKey and AllData where it says it's a 12 hour job... not sure about that but I sure hope not. And I also know that I need to pull the tranny as well. I've also heard that it's good to replace my rear main seal at the same time... thoughts? One of my coworkers told me to buy the Luk brand clutch, but from what I can see online they don't sell the whole clutch kit. I also read on some of the other forums that it's worth it to buy/rent an alignment tool. Please give me tips or advice on anything before I tear into this beast of a project! Thanks!

Old 02-28-2014, 01:48 AM
glc
Received 759 Likes on 703 Posts
I believe Luk is the OEM supplier. Replace the rear main seal, pilot bearing, pressure plate, disk, throwout bearing, andslave cylinder. You WILL need an alignment tool. When you pull the flywheel to replace the rear main seal, either send it out to be bench ground or replace it.

Looks like the Luk kits on rockauto.com come with pilot bearing, pressure plate, disk, throwout bearing, and an alignment tool. Then all you need is a slave cylinder and rear main seal.

Old 02-28-2014, 01:51 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post