Old 04-13-2015, 02:24 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
Find out how to make this difficult task manageable with more information about the following:

• Tool and parts needed
• Step-by-step directions
• Helpful picture and video guides

Read full discussion for further information
Print Wikipost

Rebuild Your Own Transmission For Less Than $500! With Pictures!

Old 12-11-2012, 03:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rebuild Your Own Transmission For Less Than $500! With Pictures!

Let me begin this write-up by saying that I was just as terrified to tear into an automatic transmission as you probably are. I’ve been wrenching on cars for 17 years and have done everything that can be done, from repairs to upgrades to mods…except for working on an auto tranny. In fact, I was so scared of automatics that, when the auto went out in my ’74 Scout II, I converted it to a manual rather than attempting to work on the auto. We, as home mechanics, are taught from our first hood opening that the automatic transmission is the single component of any vehicle that MUST be left to professional shops; they’re just too sensitive, complex, and delicate for a privateer to handle. Well, after 3 days in the garage (one pulling the tranny, one rebuilding, one reinstalling) and $550 worth of parts (only $320 of which were necessary), I successfully rebuilt my 4R75W transmission and have been driving it all over Los Angeles county for the past two days. There was no voodoo, no incredibly complex or next-to-impossible steps, and no surprises. Below is the write up along with little things I learned that may be helpful. I also should let you know that I needed exactly zero special tools for this project.

First, I purchased a master rebuild kit from Oregon Performance Transmission:

http://www.oregonperformancetransmis...de=ORE-AODE-RB