40r70W - kicks or stutters between 40 to 60mph

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2007, 11:57 PM
dxj
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 40r70W - kicks or stutters between 40 to 60mph

I will claim up front I am a rookie but I do have the desire to learn. I have read many threads on this site and elsewhere before I decided to post. Any help is appreciated.

While reading through the many trans. threads I was able to identify the type on my 2001 F-150 Automatic 4.2L V6 as a 4r70W. In another thread someone was kind enough to describe the term slipping as "the engine revs go higher than normal and stick for a while before shifting.

If this is a valid description for slippage then my problem is not slippage. My problem is most noticeable between 40-60mph and during warmer days. On colder days, approx 40F or lower, the issue does not seem to occur as consistently or may not occur during my 22-mile commute.

Anyway, what happens is; between 40-60 mph the vehicle kicks, stutters or jumps (for lack of better words) continually. The engine rpms do not increase or remain high as described for slippage, but rather remain low (below 1500). When this does occur I can accelerate thru the problem. I can then back off the accelerator when the speed gets above 60 mph (and I think when rpms stay above 1500). If my speed (and/or RPMS) lower again the problem will return. Everything is also fine (or so it seems) at speeds below 40.

I went to do a fluid change, as recommended throughout many threads, but the mechanic recommended not to as it was very clean. Any suggestions on this? Does this issues have a specific term? What are the correct rpms at these speeds?

Thanx
DXJ

Old 12-06-2007, 07:48 AM