Factory tech seperator plate install???

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2007, 06:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Factory tech seperator plate install???

I have been lurking around awhile and abused the search function, and have found alot of good information. I am interested in knowing how difficult it is to install the factory tech seperator plate in a 202 4r70w. I am an aircraft mechanic and can rebuild jet turbing engines, but I am a litte leary of my automatic transmission. I either have, or have access to any necessary tools. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I am looking at installing the plate to firm up my shifts for towing.

Old 02-28-2007, 11:03 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
It is a fairly easy mod. I did mine this past fall for the same reason you're considering it.

TCCOA has some good tech articles on this trans. (Just keep in mind there are some differences between the truck and T-Bird versions.) I used it as reference to insure I got all the ***** back in the right holes, and just to get a good general idea of what goes on with the disassembly.

Suggestions/Things I Learned the Hard Way
1) Make sure you know where the 1-2 and 2-3 accumulators are and don't mistakenly pull the OD solenoid apart. (It was a bonehead move, and a mistake I should not have made. I was not paying attention and was hurrying. Don't try it.)

2) Insure all the connectors on the plastic rail are re-connected before buttoning everything back up (or you will be taking the pan off again).

3) You might want to take advantage of having the pan off to install a drain plug.

4) Factory repair manuals ROCK! (But still don't keep you from making stupid mistakes if you try hard enough.)

Setup
I followed Dirtyd0g's recommendation for install (below), and the truck now shifts like Ford should have done it from the start.