Cold whine, trouble at dealer....

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2007, 09:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cold whine, trouble at dealer....

Really trying not to get upset. I work in the automotive service industry. Its something I see almost daily. I have a frt end whine/bearing type noise that seems to be coming from the transfer case and frt axle/diff. It only is there for the first two miles when temp is below 30 deg. F. It go's with vehicle speed and sounds like miss-aligned gear or a dry one. Fluid levels check good and no functional problems with four wheel drive. In fact, If I turn on the four wheel drive, the whine stops imediatly. If I switch it back to two wheel drive it comes back in 5-10 seconds. Dealer didn't get it to make the sound in two consecutive days. I picked it up and drove for two weeks. It made the sound each and every time I drove after sitting and getting cold. They have replaced the "controller module" last time and made no difference. They did tell me another vehicle came in like mine and they found "the hubs" were causing the noise. Not sure if they could cause this but I'm not too framiliar with 4x4 systems enough to know for sure. I hope someone has had a similar experience and can help. Thanks in advance T

Old 02-07-2007, 01:02 AM