Got my 1st Ford truck, Does my 1992 F150/302 have an AOD-E, AOD, or a diff. trans? - F150online Forums


Got my 1st Ford truck, Does my 1992 F150/302 have an AOD-E, AOD, or a diff. trans?

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 02-05-2004, 07:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: G'vlle, SC
Posts: 16
Thumbs up Got my 1st Ford truck, Does my 1992 F150/302 have an AOD-E, AOD, or a diff. trans?

Hey,
I have a built AOD from my Mustang (I'm changing it to a 5 speed). It has heavy duty clutches, better servo, better O/D band, and a Transgo shiftkit. Will this transmission work in my 92 Ford F150?

Mine has the "O/D" switch on the shifter handle,

so is it the AOD or AODE? or another transmission?

if it's an AOD-E, would my AOD work intead of the AODE if it went bad?

I may be selling the AOD on Corral, but I'm not getting half of what I have into it, so it may be worth it to keep it for the truck. Thanks for your help!

(PS: I plan on doing some engine mods when my Mustang project gets done for now)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2004, 08:22 PM
powerstroke73's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Right Coast
Posts: 2,946
As I recall your F150 would have an AODE in it. Keep in mind that if your truck is 4x4 your stang tranny won't work due to the married transfer case setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2004, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 171
That truck has the E4OD trans. The AOD-E was not introduced until '93.

-Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2004, 10:47 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: G'vlle, SC
Posts: 16
so since it's a 2wd, would an AOD work? I mean, I'd say so, but maybe I'm missing something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2004, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 171


I honestly don't know, I've never done a swap like that. You will definitely need a TV cable, TV cable throttle bracket, linkage and possibly the drive shaft and crossmember from a pre 1990 F-150. Remember, the most important thing is not to quote me on this.

Your t-body should still have the arm to clip the TV cable onto.

-Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2004, 04:57 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: G'vlle, SC
Posts: 16
ok, so my transmission doesn't use a TV/kick down cable?

Worse case scenario, I'd use a manual valvebody, as I hate those stupid kick down cables, due to one of them failing, it cost me $1,411.30

Oh well, lessons learned
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2004, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally posted by MustangFergy
ok, so my transmission doesn't use a TV/kick down cable?

Worse case scenario, I'd use a manual valvebody, as I hate those stupid kick down cables, due to one of them failing, it cost me $1,411.30

Oh well, lessons learned

You need the cable to properly regulate line pressure. It can't compensate for extra load without it.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
carid
Site Vendor Specials & Classifieds
8
10-18-2016 10:26 AM
Jesusfrk
2004 - 2008 F-150
32
08-04-2015 12:43 PM
omegaman1955
V8 Engines
13
07-16-2015 07:58 PM
jay8407
Transmissions
1
07-09-2015 12:15 AM
MitchF150
Pre-1997 Models
4
07-08-2015 05:09 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 AM.