Need help.

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2003, 10:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need help.

Ok. I've tried searching for this and I could not find it to save my life. I know the manual says to use 3.75 quart of Mercon ATF in my manual 5-speed transmission. What I'm asking is, how will I know when the tranny is full of ATF? Will the fluid just run out of the fill hole when it's full? Or do I have to measure exactly 3.75 quarts? Sorry for my ignorance, as this is my first time ever to do this.

Old 06-13-2003, 11:54 PM
peacemaker-
Proper fluid level should be about a 1/2" to 3/4" below the filler hole. hope this helps!

Old 06-14-2003, 09:44 AM
i just did my tranny fluid (99 4.6 5 speed).

when i went under the truck and took out the fill plug a slow trickle of fluid poured out of the top hole.

could have swore i read somewhere to fill till the same thing happened after draining.

thats what i did, i filled the fluid (pain in the butt) til a small trickle again came out. anyway, i new what the capacity was and that was real close to what i put back in.

thats what i have done in the past with other vehicles as well.

i think it would be real hard to judge 1/2 below the filler hole as the threads are pretty deep for the plug bolts.

Old 06-14-2003, 10:13 AM
Thanks for the info. You guys have been a big help.

Old 06-14-2003, 05:23 PM
Finally went and changed my tranny fluid.