Towing & Hauling

New to towing - Receiver/Towing Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2011, 08:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to towing - Receiver/Towing Questions

I have a 2011 FX4, 5.0, 373's,supercab with a 6.5 box (truck is stock)... I am not looking to see how much I can/can't tow, I am just looking to tow a pair of waverunners or a smaller boat or possibly a car later on.

My question is, what type of receiver/hitch ball do I need? Any brand opinions? What to look for?

I was looking at this - http://www.curtmfg.com/index.cfm?eve...&categoryid=47.

I could be way off, and again I don't mean to sound stupid. I know that may sound like a ridiculous question, but I am new to this scene. Thanks again

Old 04-14-2011, 09:06 AM
The waverunner trailer you can use either a 1-7/8 or a 2in ball for the car trailer it's going to need a 2-5/16 ball and the drop is going to depend on how you want the trailer to ride. I know I like a trailer to tow almost level but it's personal preference and how the trailer handles on a given hitch some tow better tounge high and some tow better closer to level. If you are going to be towing mutltiple trailers you may want to look into a tri ball set up that has adjustable tounge heights like this one I am going to pick this up this year.

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too..._245756_245756

Old 04-14-2011, 11:34 AM
Thanks for the prompt response. What is the reccomended for the trailer to ride? with a drop? stock height? I want to do whats best for the truck.

That looks like my next purchase, a few mixed reviews .. but being I am going to eventually be alternating from a boat/car trailer ect, this seems like it would suffice.

Old 04-14-2011, 12:48 PM
APT
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I use an adjustable height ball mount and Convert-A-Ball for ultimate flexibility. For PWC trailer, it does not matter much. Put a ball of whatever size you need on the bumper and get to the lake.

Old 04-14-2011, 01:15 PM