Lowering my 97 f150 king cab

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2014, 03:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lowering my 97 f150 king cab

This is my first post here so Hello Gent's! I was wondering I have a 97 f150 king cab I want to turn into a lowrider. I want to notch the rear frame but not sure how big of notch. Im going to build my own 6 link for the rear with bag over bar setup cause I cant see paying so much for something I can fab myself. I was wondering if anyone has some knowledge to pass on about bagging a f150?

This will be my first ever build and I am totally new to the whole bagged truck thing. I would like to hear the in's and out's of whats the best setup to go with. I know I want the bag over bar cause I read a lot on how it is smoother riding and you get more lift but as far as anything else I don't know jack about it.

Whats the best setup as compressor and tanks and batteries and switches? I have fabrication skills but would like to hear from someone that has been doing bagged trucks for a while and knows what works and doesn't.

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Old 11-05-2014, 09:51 AM
smoother ride and more lift with bag on bar yes....but less payload because of the lever effect.
With SS8 you get 10" of lift on a BOA..You really need more...when the front won't get very much more then 10-12" anyways.

Notch size: the smallest you can get to lay the frame is the best (small step in the bed)

I layed my 07 last winter and it take quite a while even with kits.
If you take your time to learn the ins and out of a 6 link and can gather and fab the link and mount: Go ahead.

Planning to go with a panhard or a watts link?
What about the front?

I was very happy with my rear MMW notch, 4link bag over axle and watts link kit.
A little less with my front kit and had to figure out some problem but it was pretty straight forward. Still have some alignement issue that I will solve later this winter.

97/03 are easier to lay the front then the 04+