2012 screw Sony sub replace with MTX Thunderform help.

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2016, 12:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 screw Sony sub replace with MTX Thunderform help.

Hello all, I'm new so if I posted improperly my bad. Though after digging around for a while I think I'm in the right spot. Couldn't find a thread close enough to really help me.

I have a 2012 Lariat SCREW with the Sony system. I am a boat mechanic and pretty familiar with everything from radars to diesels the size of big rigs, but car audio is new to me, I picked a little project that didn't seem to overwhelming for someone who's familiar with tight spaces and wiring, and would be able to rip everything out to bring it back to stock if I sell if necessary.

I bought 4 Kicker KSC68 6x8's to replace the Sony's in the doors through Stage3, and a MTX Loaded Amplified Thunderform to replace the sub from Crutchfield. I was really caught between the Kicker VSS and the MTX and not sure i went that way but that's how its going to be until I blow more money on my truck. I was looking for an upgrade, being a mechanic I'm just slightly hard of hearing but not enough to be fed up with the Sony.

I'm not worried about the door speakers there's plenty on here and YouTube with step by step instructions. I couldn't find anyone who has done it and posted. I should be getting them soon but if anyone has done it any install tips or recommendations are appreciated.

On a side note I found some old rolls of sound/temp insulation my pop used to have in his shop that looks like it would be plenty for the doors, i figured since they would be apart it would be worth throwing in but its new in the packs but an old style that requires spray on adhesive (looks like its more for firewalls I don't know if that matters, aluminum foil looking on one side and carpet padding on the other). Was wondering if anyone has added something like that during an install as opposed to Dynamat.