My install experience - long writeup

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2010, 01:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My install experience - long writeup

Preface ()
{
I would like to thank mSaLL150, brn2ryd, Sundevil2188, F 1Fiddy, Stormsearch, and all the others that provide sage advice in this forum. Without ya'll this would have never been possible without breaking a lot of stuff.
}

This last weekend I installed a new audio system in my 2010 SCREW. I am about 95% done with a little cleanup work left. I need to carpet (might use leather) the amp board, move over the hole where the RCAs exit the LC6i, install the correct 4 channel amp, reroute a cable bundle on the driver's side of the amp rack, and wait for the sub and box to be delivered.

Please keep in mind I haven't done any car audio work in over 10 years and I am sure there are easier and better ways to do what I did.

The reason for the Kicker amps is because I have a friend who is a master distributor of Kicker. He was getting me some pretty good deals and sometimes price vs. performance is what matters. This was done on what I consider a budget.

Anyway, here is a little record of the work I did.

Day 1 = Thursday 10pm - Friday 4am
1) Installed Dynamat on rear deck.
Lots of blood loss on this one. That Dynamat edge can be very sharp.
As a side note, I didn't have a mat roller and ended up using a Corona beer bottle instead. This actually worked out very well. I had both the small neck and larger bottom to get in all the rounded areas.

2) Began work on laying out amp rack.
Was waiting on the front comps to be delivered on Friday so didn't have the crossovers for the final layout. I should have gone to sleep but was too excited.

Day 2 = Friday 10am - Saturday 5am
This is where all the major work happened long with multiple trips back and forth to HomeDepot and Lowes.
I used the following write-up as my guide for most of this days work.