2004 - 2008 F-150

Rear End Rough Ride

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2017, 04:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear End Rough Ride

I'm fairly new to the sight, but have found useful solutions many times, so I'm hoping I can explain my issues clear enough that someone can reply with some useful solutions.
I've got a 2007 XLT extra cab 4wd, bought it 3 years ago with 38,000 miles. The previous owner was retired and drove it mainly for camping/hunting trips, towing his camp trailer to areas 100-200 miles round trip. He sold it after a few mods proved that he needed a bigger truck to tow his trailer with his new side by side loaded in the bed.
I purchased the well maintained, nearly stock truck with superchips flashpaq tuner and Timbren helper springs, both were attempts to make the truck perform the way he'd hoped.
The trucks ride has always been rough, it's a truck, not a luxury car. However, the first thing I invested in were some new rear shocks. Bilstein 5100's. Still a bit rough, but still not a luxury car, expected to some degree. The next step was to swap 17" tires to 18". Still rough. My last move came when I went with 35" tires. I had Bilstein 5100's installed in the front to make truck level and allow for larger tires. I love the look of the leveled truck and larger tires, and I expected it remain a bit rough. But, I swear that if I were to drive more than a few miles in rough terrain, my truck would surely beat the hell right out of me! Not to mention the effects of a simple speed bump. I've also noticed what seems to be cupping and uneven wear on rear driver's tire. They were a used set, so i knew there was wear pattern present, but not like this, and it's getting worse.

My questions are, do the Timbren helpers cause a harsher ride, something maybe more noticeable since leveling? I looked under truck recently and it appeared that one was extended and other was collapsed. Jumped up and down on bumper, seemed to resolve.