2004 - 2008 F-150

can I replace the trans cooler lines myself?

Old 12-03-2016, 12:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
can I replace the trans cooler lines myself?

Hi, I have a 2007 F150 and today noticed that the transmission cooler line on the driver side has developed quite a leak. I've tried to find videos on youtube for replacing this line and googled it but haven't had much luck. Does anyone know how big of a job this is and what tools are needed?

I'm no mechanic but using basic walkthroughs I've found online I've been able to do some fixes on my cars before like brakes, alternators, hoses and such. Is this job something that I could handle myself? Also, I only have ramps for changing oil so I can't get the truck too high off the ground and don't know if that would be a problem.

Thanks!

Old 12-05-2016, 07:35 AM
I have the same problem. All 3 of my cooler lines are leaking. I see that some of my lines were cut out and replaced with hose by the previous owner. I was told that these are low pressure lines so they can be repaired with hose and hose clamps. I have read that the clips that hold the lines into the radiator are a pain and require a special little tool to detach them. To replace the lines with OEM ones will cost about $200 from what I found online. You can look on Tasca.

http://www.tascaparts.com/auto-parts...il-cooler-scat

Old 12-05-2016, 07:40 AM
Originally Posted by shesmy3
I have the same problem. All 3 of my cooler lines are leaking. I see that some of my lines were cut out and replaced with hose by the previous owner. I was told that these are low pressure lines so they can be repaired with hose and hose clamps. I have read that the clips that hold the lines into the radiator are a pain and require a special little tool to detach them. To replace the lines with OEM ones will cost about $200 from what I found online. You can look on Tasca.

http://www.tascaparts.com/auto-parts...il-cooler-scat