Pre-1997 Models

Water/timing cover problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 09:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Water/timing cover problem

Ok first thanks to all of you who give great advice and info to us newbies!!!
So the story is that I swapped a blown 92 5.0 in my 92 f-150 XLT with that of a 89 5.0 from a crown vic. Going to rebuild my 92 but need the truck to rum first.

I swapped over all the front of engine stuff including the water pump to make everything line up and work. I now have a massive leak between tho pump and plate at the bottom where there are no blots. The 92 has two less bolts than the 89, but the holes are covered by the gasket. RTV/Gasket and still leaks. Ideas? I am not a newbie to working on cars, I have never had this problem. Do I actually need to swap the timing cover also?

Also there was a sensor on the back upper block molding behind the intake manifold. What is it? Do I need it? there is no place to put it on the 89. can I just plug it in and leave it?

Help ????

Old 02-24-2014, 11:18 AM
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Hmm, haven't compared covers year to year, but I'd imagine that you'd need the crown vic cover to go with that block.

Snag a picture of the sensor, but I'm thinking that is one of the two coolant sensors. What does it go down into on the 92 block?

Adrianspeeder

Old 02-25-2014, 01:59 AM
Hi adrian thanks for the response. I can not get a pic because I am without photographic device. "on purpose" however I have surmised that I believe it is one of the two temp sensors. Can I just leave it? there is nowhere to put it on the older engine.
Having a lot of issues with this swap, for example the timing cover is different than what it says it should be. Extra bolt holed for water pump. So I am going to have to swap out the timing cover I presume, to make the rest work.

Old 02-25-2014, 06:50 AM