Pre-1997 Models

Mod Suggestions- Free For All

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2013, 11:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Mod Suggestions- Free For All

Hey everybody,

Alright, new to the forums. I haven't done a ton of modding on trucks, but done plenty to your average pc. I'm not incompetent though, as I work as a sales trainer for a mechanics shop. I just picked up a 92 F150 XLT with the 302 in her. Looking for mods to do to her. I'm looking for gas mileage, a bit more get up and go and for trail riding. I'm not a mudder, or do any rock crawling otherwise I would of got a Jeep or a older Ford.

Currently my mod list is for a K/N Cold Air Intake and a throttle body spacer. Not dead set on the TBS because I've heard mixed reviews, mostly for the sound. Its already got an aftermarket exhaust on her, upgraded A/T tires. Feel free to throw anything at me for ideas, the help is appreciated.

Old 12-12-2013, 12:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can you try to get a picture up, so we can visualize it better? Gas mileage is probably only going to rely on your right foot unfortunately. The TBS is 99.9% just for adding to the jet noise on the intake as far as I'm concerned, so get it if that's what you want it for. It does appear, from pictures, that these would actually shrink the intake diameter too, which can't help with flow IMO. Is it 4wd or 2? I happen to think that these trucks look stellar with a 3" body lift, though that'll hurt the MPGs a little haha.

Welcome to the forum too!

Old 12-12-2013, 05:11 PM
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Howdy and welcome to the basement.

More power
Reliability
Price

Pick two, ya can't have three. Not much at all you can do to bump fuel mileage above 15 or so at all with the lil ole 302. Truck is too heavy, and moves too much air out the way.