Pre-1997 Models

93 F150 brakes falling apart

Old 03-06-2012, 10:46 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
93 F150 brakes falling apart

so that's what the guy at schwab told me today and handed me a 4" chunk of pad. Anyway, I may want to ask someone on craigslist who advertises as a 22 yrs certified experience mechanic to do this work for me. My question is what are the tools that he needs to do this job right? Anything else I need to ask him besides warranty work ect..

i tried launching my boat and my emergency break isn't working. I bought this truck used about 3 weeks ago. the ad said new breaks and it's a good looking truck with 33's new front end work done. new motor, grill, headlights (HID) bearings bushings, but i dont have 200.00 and if a drum is needed there is another 200.00

30.00 per hr is his rates. I would appreciate any help with this. I would attempt it but i'm no mechanic and i don't have the tools. thanks.

Old 03-07-2012, 12:59 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What u describe to me sounds like cheap brake pads were used in the front. Probably the lowest grade from a local parts store, and i found out the bonding material to glue the friction material to the backing plate is junk. But i also had this happen on two sets of Wagner premium pads so it may just be quality control. Either that or i also seen heavy heat loads tear brake pads apart.

If the job is simple chaning the brake pads then its rather simple and i would suggest trying it urself. As long as u have a floor jack, jack stand and some basic hand tools u can do this urself in about an hr start to finish while enjoying a cold beverage. But the basic tools, aside from the jack n stand, would be a large screw driver, c-clamp, small hammer and a little pateince.