Pre-1997 Models

"New" '93 F150 XL; tips, advice, suggestions?

Old 03-17-2011, 04:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"New" '93 F150 XL; tips, advice, suggestions?

Hi all, my dad gave me his stock '93 F150 XL (4.9L I6, 2WD) and I've been browsing around the last few days trying to learn what I can about the truck so I can figure out what I'd like to do with it. First thing's first, I'll be taking it in shortly for a tune up, etc., but after that I might be interested in adding to it a bit.

First, do you have any suggested reading, warnings, tips, or suggestions for upgrades?

Second, I assume it would be a total pain to convert to 4WD? I'm not really looking to go off roading much but I do like hiking in some places where it'd help out or be required to get there and it'd be nice to have in winter. Am I better off selling it and getting something with 4WD than messing with a conversion?

Thanks all!

Edit: This is a really dumb question, but I'm new to trucks so please forgive the ignorance. My dad said it has a tow package (he didn't do this, he bought it this way) installed and it looks like the back end is lifted. How do I check to see if the back end has been lifted for the purpose of towing?

Last edited by jremick; 03-17-2011 at 04:06 PM.
Old 03-18-2011, 12:20 AM
You'd be better off buying a 4 wheel drive than messing with a conversion. We did it in high school on a beater 84...mind you it was carburated... and had a doner truck, but as I real keeper I wouldn't mess with it

Old 03-18-2011, 09:04 PM