Pre-1997 Models

91 f-150 won't turn over

Old 01-25-2011, 08:55 PM
bdm
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
91 f-150 won't turn over

Hi. I hope someone can help me with a problem with my '91 6 cyl F-150.

I parked it last weekend in it's garage, after a day on the ice. Everything worked fine. The following weekend (last weekend) I went to go fishing, and it will not start. When I turn the key there is one click, then nothing. I thought perhaps battery, it is old, so I changed that (clean and tight) but still nothing.

I am not a mechanic, but have had this truck for 20 years, so I have done some work on it. I am guessing it is the starter. Is there a way to check that? It is cold here in N WI, so i would like to be able to fix the problem the first time. Or, I guess, the second...

Thank you all for all of the help. I also have an old snow mobile and an old tractor, and i know these forums are full of good advice.

Last edited by bdm; 01-26-2011 at 06:54 AM.
Old 01-26-2011, 10:28 AM
glc
Received 754 Likes on 700 Posts
Follow the + cable from the battery to the starter, and clean every connection along the way.

Old 01-26-2011, 12:59 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Read these captions:

. . . . .

Old 01-26-2011, 07:46 PM
bdm
Originally Posted by glc
Follow the + cable from the battery to the starter, and clean every connection along the way.
I went through the wires and found no visible problems. I looked at the diagrams below and seem to be ok. When I bridge the relay (thing on the fender) I get nothing. Am I to assume it is the relay? I have not climed under the truck and bridged the terminals to see if the starter spins, but it is cold and dark when I get home. I am wondering why this would have happened if it was a wireing problem. It worked fine, and I did no work to it. It was 30 below for a couple of days while it sat, but it is warmer now.

Would a new relay be the solution?

Old 01-26-2011, 07:51 PM
Originally Posted by bdm