Pre-1997 Models

Vacuum Diagram 1989 F150 5.8 351

Old 08-26-2009, 02:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vacuum Diagram 1989 F150 5.8 351

Hello all, I'm new to the whole Ford Truck thing and I'm having trouble figuring out the correct way to route the vacuum lines. I bought this truck in bad shape and most of the vacuum lines were disconnected or in the wrong location (I believe).

I've searched high and low for the vacuum diagram but with no luck. I do have the one in the truck itself but it doesn't list any where close to all the vacuum lines. I've also been to the Autozone site but couldn't find any there either. Any more suggestions?

Brian

Old 08-27-2009, 06:46 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
The only vacuum lines not shown on the VECI label are for cruise & HVAC. There are only ~10 for the engine - not many at all. You can temporarily disconnect the others & plug those vacuum nipples to get the engine running right. Then work on the other 2 systems later.

Old 09-16-2009, 09:41 AM
Unhappy F150 5.8 missing VECI diagram

When we pressure washed our '88 F150 / 351 the VECI label disintegrated. Unfortunately neither of the manuals we have include diagrams for the vacuum lines. Does anyone know where I can download a copy of the VECI, or, can someone take a decent pix of their label and post or email it to me? mfowler@sc.rr.com

Thanks in advance

Old 09-16-2009, 10:49 AM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Try google images for 1988 F150 vacuum diagram ?

http://www.netrockets.com/~cmcmanus@...me-diagram.GIF

One of the regular members here has quite a few old diagrams under his account on another site, it could be there also ( usually ~ 83 MY, but worth a look )

http://www.supermotors.net/registry/2742/12671

Old 09-16-2009, 11:27 AM
Smile Thanks!