Pre-1997 Models

Intake? Efan? Mods....

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2007, 12:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Intake? Efan? Mods....

Whats the best thing to do for an intake on my 1992 f-150 5.0 V8? Ive heard alot of mixed reactions on the fipk, and I cant find one under 230. So, Im open for suggestions.

Also, can someone post a link for a cheap, good efan for this make and model of truck? How big of fan do most you guys use?

Im looking to do a few minor mods to this truck, as I already have 3.5 cats then straight pipe back. I'm also fairly new to trucks, but have worked on motorcycles all my life, so please help me out guys!

Cole

Old 06-23-2007, 12:55 PM
There's no such thing as cheap HP.

High bang for the buck items which are fairly easy to install are:

E-fan: check out Flex-A-Lite model #210 or 295 but they aren't cheap.
Underdrive pullies
1.7:1 ratio roller rocker arms (not cheap either.)

If you want real power increases out of a 302, replace the heads with something that can actually breathe.

Old 06-24-2007, 01:36 AM
thats interesting Ill take it into consideration, but I honestly dont know much about some of that sort of stuff, and would like to avoid major motor and tranny mods. Any one else put their 2 cent in please????

Old 06-24-2007, 02:21 AM
basically you want a magic potion. not going to happen.

only difference with the fipk kit is i can hear the throttle body more. made the engine sound buffer but i truly dont think it did much performance wise.

thats why i made sure to get the 5.8 when i bought mine.

Old 06-24-2007, 08:16 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This is the best "bang for the buck" bolt in mod imo:

http://www.fordracingparts.com/parts...tKeyField=7367

Old 06-24-2007, 08:45 AM
Lotsa bang for lotsa bucks, but essentially you're right. I think that's probably
more money and more work than he's willing to get involved with though.

Old 06-24-2007, 11:07 AM