Pre-1997 Models

1992 ford f-150 transmission type?

Old 12-29-2005, 03:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1992 ford f-150 transmission type?

I have a 1992 ford f-150 with a 6 cyl in-line, automatic transmission, power steering, A/C, and 8 foot bed. What type of transmission do I have? I think it is a C-4, but I am not sure. I have a neutral safety switch problem. I can start the truck when it is in neutral, but it wont start when it is in park. Sometimes I have to move the shift lever (on the column) around a little to get it started when it is in neutral. I think the switch is out of adjustment, but I am not sure. I havn't looked at it yet, as I just got back from some Christmas traveling. I have Haynes repair manual for my truck, and it shows a procedure for adjusting this switch, but I have never done it before. Are there any other electrical components in the starting system that could cause a failure like I described above?

Old 12-29-2005, 04:09 PM
If you have an OD tranny, you have an E4OD.
Your problem is not with the neutral safety switch, the E4OD doesn't have a separate one. That function is incorporated into the transmission range sensor (TRS) which is located on the LH side of the tranny. They are famous for coming just slightly out of adjustment. Your Haynes should cover that as well.

Old 12-29-2005, 05:10 PM
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
E4OD was the standard automatic in 92 for the F150/Bronco. The F-250+s however could still get the C6.

https://www.f150online.com/forums/sh...60#post1832360

The E4OD will have an overdrive lockout button on the shifter and a door jam code of E.

Check out that TRS and you should be good to go.

Adrianspeeder

Old 12-29-2005, 11:40 PM
weird stuff going on