The Start of a New System

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2015, 07:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Start of a New System

I'm slowly piecing together a system for my 2010 F150 scab. Although I've been in audio for over 20 years, this is my first attempt at putting anything in my truck. I wanted to share a few of the choices I've been making and see if anyone has any opinions or comments.

It seems like it would be best to layout out some goals I have for this system. They are not in any particular order.

1. I want the system to appear as stock as possible. The only exception would be mounting component tweeters in the front doors.

2. Sound quality is more important to me than SPL. Although, admittedly, this project started after I got frustrated at trying to hear a song driving down the highway at 80 with the windows down. Living in Michigan, we only get a few days a year where we can actually have the windows down, I want to take full advantage! I have no interest in being heard a mile away.

3. I'm after a very high value system. That is, one that isn't overly expensive, but sounds great. (I know, this one may seem obvious)

4. I don't want to tinker with this system. I have no issue tuning it until it sounds the way I want, but I don't plan to continue to swap gear in and out or make changes to the system (which is completely different than the home audio side for me)

I have purchased a JL Audio 8w3v3 subwoofer and I built a custom box that is sealed and down firing and sits underneath the 40 seat in the back.

I have purchased an Alpine PDR V75 5 channel amplifier to support the subwoofer and the four door speakers.