Go Back   F150online Forums > Audio & Video System > Multimedia & Navigation
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos Vin Decoder FAQ Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Vendor DirectoryGarage

Welcome to F150Online Forums!
Welcome to F150Online.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the F150Online Forums community today!





Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:04 AM
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Where is the Vehicle Speed Sensor Wire on a 2004 Ford F150?

I am doing an install right now on a 2004 Ford F150 Pick-up and I can't seem to find the speed sensor wire for the navigation. Does anyone know the location of the speed sensor wire and colors?....And does the reverse wire on the Alpine NVE-851A unit have to be connected, or can it just be grounded?....Please let me know asap!

Thanks a bunch for the help! - - Sean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2007, 12:03 PM
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Bump!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2007, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
2004 Ford F-150
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wichita KS
Vehicle: 2004 Ford F-150
Posts: 2,926
I'm a bit confused. Why does the Alpine need to be hooked to a speed sense wire? Is that for the safety feature so you can't watch movies while driving?

Also don't expect a reply in one hour most folks don't play around on here till the evening.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2007, 01:36 AM
Technical Article Contributor
2006 Ford F-150
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Near Houston
Vehicle: 2006 Ford F150
Posts: 1,459
Send a message via AIM to Fabian06SC
the VSS wire should be on the radio plug...
number 14 Click the image to open in full size.
and i would connect the reverse wire, its probably used for the addition of a backup cam. if you dont have one then either connect it up or leave it disconnected but dont ground it.



and IMpact.. its for the NAV not the unit itself
__________________


"The things most regreted are the things you never did"
Qoute of the week lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetti96 View Post
... if you searched it would have been right at the top I bet... I tried. Spoon feeding isn't my forte'.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2007, 10:25 PM
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington, PA
Vehicle: 2006 Ford F150
Posts: 78
I have the same question as IMPACT9, is the speed sensor wire needed for the nav. to operate, or is just for the DVD safety system, or for something else? I thought it wasn't necessary, my Brandmotion (Magellan) unit is not tied into the vehicle speed sensor as far as I know, nor are the mobile units that can be taken from vehicle to vehicle.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2007, 11:21 PM
Technical Article Contributor
2006 Ford F-150
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Near Houston
Vehicle: 2006 Ford F150
Posts: 1,459
Send a message via AIM to Fabian06SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by twmalonehunter
I have the same question as IMPACT9, is the speed sensor wire needed for the nav. to operate, or is just for the DVD safety system, or for something else? I thought it wasn't necessary, my Brandmotion (Magellan) unit is not tied into the vehicle speed sensor as far as I know, nor are the mobile units that can be taken from vehicle to vehicle.

Mobile units usually use just straight GPS sat recievers to determine your position, therefor they can be handheld and switched car to car.

Indash units work the same way, except that they have the added convinience of using the speed sensor wire to let the unit determine where you are from the last sat signal recieved when it fails to register a signal from the gps sat.
For example, you travel thru a large forest, tunnel, storm or somewhere the gps cant recieve a good signal (or when your siblings think its cool to dress up the gps or sat radio antenna in aluminum foil cause its shiny), the VSS signal helps the unit determine how much you exactly traveled from the moment you lost GPS signal to keep you nav going until it can achieve another signal reading from GPS sats.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:05 AM
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington, PA
Vehicle: 2006 Ford F150
Posts: 78
Fabian06sc, that is great info thanks.

I increased the tire size on my truck. So does this mean that when I hook up an in dash (i.e. Alpine W205 or the Kenwook DNX7100) and use the VSS wire that the unit will confuse my location sometimes? And if so, would getting the Edge and reprogramming tire size remedy this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Vehicle: 2001 Ford Excursion
Posts: 626
Send a message via ICQ to KCAutosound Send a message via AIM to KCAutosound Send a message via Yahoo to KCAutosound
Quote:
Originally Posted by twmalonehunter
Fabian06sc, that is great info thanks.

I increased the tire size on my truck. So does this mean that when I hook up an in dash (i.e. Alpine W205 or the Kenwook DNX7100) and use the VSS wire that the unit will confuse my location sometimes? And if so, would getting the Edge and reprogramming tire size remedy this?
That's why I like the Kenwood. No VSS wire. Calculates speed by GPS. Seems to be accurate. At higher speeds it's off by about 2 mph. What's cool is you have no wires to hook up other than the basics radio wiring unless you're wanting rear camera then you have to hook up reverse.
__________________


I install the Ford Accessories in Kansas City. I have been professionally installing aftermarket equipment for over 23 years. Any questions you may have chances are I've done it and can help you!!! I specialize in custom mobile audio, video, security, and remote start systems, power windows, cruise controls, custom fabrication and more! I AM HERE TO HELP YOU. DO NOT CONTACT ME FOR PRODUCTS OR SERVICES. I AM NOT A VENDOR FOR THIS SITE!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2007, 08:38 PM
Technical Article Contributor
2006 Ford F-150
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Near Houston
Vehicle: 2006 Ford F150
Posts: 1,459
Send a message via AIM to Fabian06SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCAutosound
That's why I like the Kenwood. No VSS wire. Calculates speed by GPS. Seems to be accurate. At higher speeds it's off by about 2 mph. What's cool is you have no wires to hook up other than the basics radio wiring unless you're wanting rear camera then you have to hook up reverse.

This man here is the wiring GURU...

LIsten to him!


But to anwser.. yes, if you lose signal for a good while... say an hour or so, your nav will theoretically be off by how many ever miles yoru gauges are.. but the chances that you lose GPS signal for an hour or 60miles (given the traveled speed is 60mph at a constant.) are slim to none. it basically backs up the GPS just incase.

If for some reason you do get off from the nav using the vss as soon as you recieve gps signals you should be right back on track.

And KC im dying for pics of the newer ddx reciever you got! Email me a few pics of the user interface where you can add your own backgrounds. I sooo wanna upgrade the 6019. (too bad i have other things to "spend" money on) custom BG pics would rule!
Also you will recieve a PM from me shortly, hope you dont mind the questions.
/highjack
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Vehicle: 2001 Ford Excursion
Posts: 626
Send a message via ICQ to KCAutosound Send a message via AIM to KCAutosound Send a message via Yahoo to KCAutosound
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian06SC
And KC im dying for pics of the newer ddx reciever you got! Email me a few pics of the user interface where you can add your own backgrounds. I sooo wanna upgrade the 6019. (too bad i have other things to "spend" money on) custom BG pics would rule!
Also you will recieve a PM from me shortly, hope you dont mind the questions.
/highjack

Here's a few pics of it. I'll try to take some of my actual one in my truck. These are from my photo booth. I take numorous pictures of products so people know exactly what they are getting. Especially when it comes to a $1000+ purchase.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________


I install the Ford Accessories in Kansas City. I have been professionally installing aftermarket equipment for over 23 years. Any questions you may have chances are I've done it and can help you!!! I specialize in custom mobile audio, video, security, and remote start systems, power windows, cruise controls, custom fabrication and more! I AM HERE TO HELP YOU. DO NOT CONTACT ME FOR PRODUCTS OR SERVICES. I AM NOT A VENDOR FOR THIS SITE!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 10:17 PM


 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


 
This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. FordŽ is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Contact Us Advertising Privacy Statement Terms of Service Jobs Forum Text Archives
Emails & Contact Details