backup lights install 2006 f150 supercrew

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2011, 09:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
backup lights install 2006 f150 supercrew

Hey guys,
I'm wanting to install some backup lights on my truck. Thought I'd use some cheap 55 watt driving lights. I am a noob when it comes to electrical work and don't want to screw anything up. I do have some help from my father (retired electrical engineer), but I'm wanting to get ya'lls opinion on the best way to run the wiring so that I don't damage my electrical system. What I'm trying to accomplish is I want to mount a 3-way toggle that will allow me to do always on, always off, and on when my truck is in reverse.

I figure for always on I can follow the instructions that will come with the lights, unless anyone has a better suggestion. Always off isn't a problem, but what would be the best way to tie into the backup lights? From the technical pages it looks like there is a bunch of wiring that runs under the drivers side door kick panel. I also know there's a lot of wiring that runs underneth the truck. At the very least I would run plastic covering to run the light wires in, and then zip tie those to the existing plastic tubing.

Any suggestions on switch mounting too would be appriciated. I really like the look of mounting a switches by the cigarette lighter, but I'm not sure they make a round 3-position switch that I could mount there. Any other gotcha's I should be aware of?