Catalytic Converter replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2013, 06:14 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Catalytic Converter replacement

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum, as well as the first time owning a Ford. I've previously driven two Chevrolet trucks, and can say that I'd rather not do it again.

On Monday, I bought a 2004 F150 Lariat 4x4 (For which I'm still waiting for the title). The price seemed right, but it doesn't have catalytic converters. The seller showed me that it was able to get through emissions, but it did dispay the 2 corresponding cat codes, P0420 and P0430.

At some point, I will need to go through emissions (in the Phoenix Metro Area), so I'm wondering what I need to do here.

According to this diagram here, it shows 2 pre-cats and 2 full-cats, with O2 Sensors before and after the pre-cats.

Underneath my truck, I see NO cats at all, and 2 out of 4 O2 sensors. The exhaust configuration is 2 straight pipes into a Y-pipe, SISO. (I wonder if I could get away with just installing one Catalytic Converter and O2 Sensor, or if I need both cats and pre-cats)

Do I need to re-install some hardware, or find a way to permanently tune out the codes and get through emissions?

Thank you for your help.

Old 03-03-2013, 07:09 AM

Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
First off, welcome to the site.

As you correctly noted, our '04's came with 4. In California you'd need 4. You can replace with two cats preferably aftermarket to save your wallet. On this forum Magnaflow 94106 & 94136 (same thing but has an O2 bung installed. You can buy universal versions of the factory cats from Magnaflow as well. I have the 94106's myself but mine are throwing codes due to a poor weld job, but I'm also becoming suspicious they might be damaged as well. If you are hooked up via OBDII for emissions you can't tune out the codes. It will result is "system not ready" thus resulting in a fail.

Hope that helps.

Old 03-03-2013, 12:36 PM
Thanks for the answer.