Alternator reading low amps again?

Old 01-27-2017, 04:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alternator reading low amps again?

I have a 2006 f150 5.4. I've had the alternator changed twice now because the amps were reading between 60 and 70. My mechanic said it should be around 120 (I think). So, my lights still flicker and so does my dash (mainly my odometer). It's not bad when it's cold, but when it warms up it gets pretty bad. It doesn't flicker any if I'm driving, only when I come to a stop like at a light or anything. What could this be? I'm not a great mechanic so I need help for sure. Thank you.

Old 01-27-2017, 05:17 PM
Received 220 Likes on 200 Posts
The alternator only generates the amps needed to keep the voltage to about 14 and the amps needed to do that varies with load. How did the mechanic test it?

Old 01-27-2017, 05:34 PM
I'm pretty sure they used the meter to check it? I'm not positive. They're very good and honest and they're not sure why it's still doing that. When I accelerate it's gone so it's confusing to me.

Old 01-27-2017, 07:54 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by toshortofnam
I'm pretty sure they used the meter to check it? I'm not positive. They're very good and honest and they're not sure why it's still doing that. When I accelerate it's gone so it's confusing to me.
What is gone when you accelerate ?

As Roadie posted the PCM decides what the charging rate is.

Old 01-27-2017, 08:38 PM
Originally Posted by SSCULLY
What is gone when you accelerate ?

As Roadie posted the PCM decides what the charging rate is.

the flicker of lights and odometer is gone when I'm driving. Only at idle is it bad. So what does that mean? Could that be a battery issue? I mean the battery tests fine but could it still be that?

Last edited by toshortofnam; 01-28-2017 at 02:17 AM.
Old 01-30-2017, 06:32 AM
Sorry for this spam, but does anyone have any idea? I'm clueless. I can't figure it out

Old 01-30-2017, 10:41 AM