2002 F150: short between ignition switch and digital transmission range sensor

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2016, 11:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 F150: short between ignition switch and digital transmission range sensor

Hi All:

I have a problem to start to f150 truck (2002, v6, automatic transmission, equipped with remote anti-theft module) . Whenever I turn the ignition to run, the #21 fuse in the driver side fuse box blows. After initial diagnoses, I found there is a short between ignition switch and digital transmission range sensor.

After looking at Haynes repair manual ( I bought better manual but it is in the shipping process ), there are:
1. starter interrupt relay, which connects to remote anti-theft module
2. clutch pedal position switch.

Can anyone tell me where is the starter interrupt relay and clutch pedal switch? I want to look at these two components first before looked the wires in between.

Thanks a lot. It is my first time to trouble shooting electric problems. Any help and suggestions are highly welcome.

Old 04-23-2016, 12:19 PM
glc
Received 759 Likes on 703 Posts
If you have an automatic, you don't have a clutch pedal switch.

Old 04-23-2016, 12:28 PM
Received 104 Likes on 97 Posts
If you have had exhaust or transmission work done recently, look at the wiring harnesses in that vicinity. It loops over the top of the transmission and gets pinched.

A blown F21 (when the key is turned to START, not RUN) is usually the result of a pinched wiring harness in that general vicinity.

The 2002 F150 did not leave the factory with a starer interrupt relay. If your aftermarket remote system added one, you'll have to figure it out on your own.

Last edited by projectSHO89; 04-23-2016 at 12:31 PM.
Old 04-23-2016, 03:16 PM
Originally Posted by projectSHO89
If you have had exhaust or transmission work done recently, look at the wiring harnesses in that vicinity. It loops over the top of the transmission and gets pinched.