120v outlet installation?'s

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2004, 12:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
120v outlet installation?'s

was watching "Trucks" on Spike channel the other day, and they installed a 120v outlet in the side of a 250. i thought that would be great since i go to the desert alot. but i would rather it be in the bed somewhere out of the way and with the outdoor covers. was thinking on putting them on the side by the gate where my bed extender goes into. now, the main thing is that i am no electrician. so i am asking how would i connect that into. as far as power supply goes. wiring diagrams, hook up points and all that jazz, thanks guys, willie

Old 08-13-2004, 12:57 AM
The device that converts the 12VDC that your truck produces to 120VAC that a regular power outlet supplies is called an inverter. You can buy cheap (under $50) ones to power one device that plug right into a power port. I assume that if you want one to use when camping, you want to run larger things with that power, and so you'll need one that's a bit beefier (commercial inverters run around $300).

Depending on what you intend to run with this, you may also need to add a second battery to make sure your truck starts in the morning after powering devices for a long period, and that generally requires an upgraded alternator capable of charging both batteries.

If you're just looking to power a small light or something like that, a simple inverter wired into the 12v system will be fine. If you're looking to run a fridge all night with the truck not running, you'll need to beef up your electrical system or you'll kill your battery very quickly.

Decide what you intend to power and how much you can spend on it, and we can give more specific advice on what to purchase and how to install it.

Hope this helps.

Predictive

Old 08-13-2004, 09:20 AM