No left front turn signal, back one too fast

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2000, 11:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post No left front turn signal, back one too fast

My right front turn signal doesn't work when I turn the switch, but the back one (and the indicator light) blink rapidly. I switched the front turn signal bulbs, no effect. I recently went under the guages to try and fix a instrument lights + tail light short. Taped the wires in that circuit I could see but don't think I found it, but moving the wires around had the effect that the instrument lights/tail light work now. I probably created the current problem then.
I'm not very experienced with wiring diagrams; the wire from the R side of the turn signal runs to a black rectangle. Is that a connector, or a junction block, or???
Anyway, it seems to run straight through that then to the turn signal. Two more wires of the same color leave the black rectangle, one to the indicator and one to the rear turn signal.
Any idea how I should go about diagnosing this? I seem to remember from high school auto mechanics eons ago that a device heats up from current and opens the circuit, then cools and closes it, causing the blinking. If the blinking is too fast, there is too much current. Too much current plus no current to the front bulb together sounds like a short between that black rectangle and the turn signal. Am I on track or hopelessly lost?
Thanks most sincerely,
Jim
(re: No front turn signal, back one too fast)

Old 06-14-2000, 10:12 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts