Anyone elses transponder failed yet?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2000, 01:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Anyone elses transponder failed yet?

I jumped in my truck a while back, stuck the key in and noticed the theft light blinking strangly. Paying really no attetion to it I continued to crank the engine and it just set there and cranked. I took the key out flipped it over and it started fine. It hasn't done it again. I was just wondering if anyone else had this happen yet.

My dealer said that it would just about take and act of congress to get a new key.

------------------
99 F-150 XLT Sport, Black 4x4 4.6L , 3.55 LS,Manual Tranny, K&N air filter, No Muff Exaust system,.999 tuned TPS,Pioneer CD Player,Pioneer GM-X332 Amp,8" Rockford Fosgate Punches, Custom(self done)pinstriping,Wrap around bugdeflecter

Old 02-14-2000, 11:48 AM
Sugarman,
Being a locksmith, I program these keys on a regular basis. I too had had one do exactly that. I don't know what caused the problem. I wasn't able to duplicate it after it happened that one time. When I programed the key into the system it showed as being "programed successfully." As far as taking an act of congress to get a key, that's bull chips! Every dealer has the nessasary equipment as well as some of the better locksmiths. They're not cheap though! Don't go in there expecting to pay a couple of bucks for a duplicate key. To give you an idea I charge $60.00 to cut a duplicate P.A.T.S. key and program it, $150.00 if you loose all of your keys. You may find someone to do it for less depending on where you live but I believe most are the same or more.
P.S. I'll ask some questions of those in the know to see if they know a possible cause and cure.
------------------