Go Back   F150online Forums > Body > Electrical Systems
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Electrical Systems SPONSORED BY:

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2004, 09:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
'93 F150 Cruise control not working!!

Hello all,

Just purchased my first Ford F-150 about 5 months ago, I finally tried the crusie control and guess what...yep it doesnt work I did some searches and my horn does work so fuse is good, however I have no idea where to start troubleshooting. I have chilton mannual, however this book has no troubleshooting diagrams. Can someone pleaes help me. I may need a good wiring diagram for the cruise control, the Chilton book doesnt show it even in the wiring diarams. Any and all information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Brad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2004, 12:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the South
Vehicle: 93 f150 4x4
Posts: 202
easiest checks

1 ck that all brake lamps are working correctly.
2 ck power to pin 7 of servo P/O wire, fed by fuse E in eng comp.
3 ck power on pin 9 of servo W/PK wire, IF NOT ck power on both side of pressure switch(brake releesed). If no power on either side ck fuse 13 (inside fue panel). power on 1 side= bad switch.

4 ck for broken cabel.
These are the easiest and most common failures. The switch test are a littler harder to describe so ck these 1st
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2004, 12:14 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Danny,
Thanks for the info, here's a dumb question for you. These voltages will be there when I push the on button on steering wheel or will the voltages always be there??

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2004, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the South
Vehicle: 93 f150 4x4
Posts: 202
"'Should" always be there ,I left out the swith test info because its a little more in depth.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2004, 09:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Danny,
Here is my progress

1. all brake lamps work
2. Pin 7 on Servo has power
3. pin 9 on Servo has power
4. Cable is all good.

When I had the connector off the servo, I had a buddy push the on/off button and I did get a 12volts, and when it when we pushed off the voltage went away.

What would you check next??

How do I check the servo to make sure its keeping the cable tight.


Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2004, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the South
Vehicle: 93 f150 4x4
Posts: 202
speed control

The servo is replaced after everything else checks ok. You need a diagram to check the steering wheel switches by. I can email it if I had your address(cant figure how to post it here). Anyway you have to probe pins 5 and 6 while checking reading on set/accel, resume, and coast to check these switches.

coast= 120 ohms
set/accel=680
resume=2200
on= batt voltage ( dont forget to change your meter to V)
off
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2004, 10:10 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Danny,
You can e-mail me at

Last edited by TX1993f150; 02-05-2004 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2004, 04:49 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lemoore, CA
Vehicle: 2005 Ford F150
Posts: 7
Question

OK I'm new here but have my 95 150 for 8 years. I've got the same problem. Ive checked all switches and voltages ( all good) even jumpered the brake switch. It still doesn't work... My question is this. Does the "high" brake light on the cab need to be working or just the taillight brakelights? I just noticed it was out

Don
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2004, 09:09 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lemoore, CA
Vehicle: 2005 Ford F150
Posts: 7
Well replaced the light and still NADA... Any ideas???


Don
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2005, 03:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
1995 cruise control

I too am having a time with my cruise control. I paid Ford $75.00 to diagnose the trouble and they assured me it was the servo. I went to a salvage yard and bought another one. No better than before. It still don't work. Does anything inside of the speedometer cluster have any affect on the cruise control? When I try to engage the cruise at a speed when it would normally kick in I hear a click like a relay or something. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Is there another electronic box under the dash that has to do with the cruise control?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the South
Vehicle: 93 f150 4x4
Posts: 202
Maybe this will help some. 96 diagram. I tried posting a 93 diagram but it would not work.

Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the South
Vehicle: 93 f150 4x4
Posts: 202
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-16-2005, 10:25 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Charleroi
Vehicle: 1989 Ford F150
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to spacedout
im not sure about the newer trucks but on my 89 there are vacume cans that have somthign to do with the cruse so maby try looking for a vacume leak
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-17-2005, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In the South
Vehicle: 93 f150 4x4
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacedout
im not sure about the newer trucks but on my 89 there are vacume cans that have somthign to do with the cruse so maby try looking for a vacume leak
92-96 No Vaccum required.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-19-2006, 06:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle
Vehicle: 1994 Ford F150
Posts: 7
Danny, or anybody out there who knows, I could use some help. I did all of the tests that you described above and everything checks except when I check voltage across pin 5 and 6 using the on button on the wheel I get no voltage. It jumps up momentarily to like .3 volts and then goes right back down to nothing. This is with the key on and the plug disconnected at the servo obviously. By the way, I really appreciate all of the information that you have provided on this board. It is most valuable.

Truck is a 94 F150 4x4 XLT AT.

Thanks again.

Last edited by RCHauler; 01-19-2006 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 06:43 PM


 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.





This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. FordŽ is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
 
Contact Us Advertising Privacy Statement Terms of Service Jobs Forum Text Archives
Emails & Contact Details