Go Back   F150online Forums > Powertrain & Mechanical > Chips, Tuners & Programming
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Chips, Tuners & Programming SPONSORED BY:

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Vehicle: 2007 Ford F150
Posts: 38
HELP! PO61B CODE! how to fix? 07 f150 4.6l

i have an 07 f150 4.6l with k&n intake and a flowmaster exhaust. when i set the evolution to trans mode it runs fine for a minute then engine looses all its power and check engine light comes on. code reads po61b internal control module torque calculation performance what do i need to do to fix this:>? chip worked fine for about a week
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:30 PM
MGDfan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj_1986 View Post
i have an 07 f150 4.6l with k&n intake and a flowmaster exhaust. when i set the evolution to trans mode it runs fine for a minute then engine looses all its power and check engine light comes on. code reads po61b internal control module torque calculation performance what do i need to do to fix this:>? chip worked fine for about a week
Hi &welcome.

If it's not a simple air/vacuum leak it may be ETC - tune related.

Contact Edge & log a trouble ticket ASAP if the latter.

Also be aware that EDGE does NOT support their devices' tuning with an aftermarket WAI/Washoobi installed, on slot-style MAFs like yours. They state this clearly. As such, you may be denied support.

Reinstall the stock intake and see if the problem returns.

MGD
__________________


BlackSheepBubba
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Vehicle: 2007 Ford F150
Posts: 38
ill give it a try what would i need to change in the settings to run the edge with the k&n intake?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Vehicle: 2007 Ford F150
Posts: 38
odd thing is it worked fine for about a week with the intake in it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:43 PM
MGDfan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj_1986 View Post
ill give it a try what would i need to change in the settings to run the edge with the k&n intake?
That's just it - you can't. Aftermarket intakes are simply not supported, as per Edge.

You would need PHP to convert & supply yer programmer with custom tuning ( always a good move). www.gopowerhungry.com.

When you log that ticket, ask them about this .

Good luck.

MGD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Vehicle: 2007 Ford F150
Posts: 38
alright ill give them a shot hear comes more money lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2011, 12:24 AM
88racing's Avatar
Technical Article Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In the fast lane from LA to Tokyo...
Vehicle: 2002 FORD/HD #04417
Posts: 10,484
Nice Sig Pix MGDfan.......Click the image to open in full size.
__________________

Last edited by 88racing; 01-18-2011 at 01:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2011, 12:32 AM
88racing's Avatar
Technical Article Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In the fast lane from LA to Tokyo...
Vehicle: 2002 FORD/HD #04417
Posts: 10,484
To the OP.....

Yer truck may also be lacking some routine maintenance.......

Like.....
Cleaning yer TB.
Cleaning yer MAF.
Changing yer trucks fuel filter.

Before you go about doing those items set yer truck back to stock then disconnect the battery......

Perform those three items and then reconnected the battery when done.....

Run her around town fer alittle bit then load a tune and if the code happens again Alls not lost you've just proven that the CAI is the culprit and not playing with the edge tunes nicely.......
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-2011, 08:53 AM
glc glc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Joplin MO
Vehicle: 2003 Ford F150
Posts: 29,075
Get rid of the K&N - do a Gotts/DWV mod to the stock intake and put it back on. All a K&N does for you is look cool, make noise, and foul the MAF with filter oil - and it will cause you to run too lean without custom tunes unless you put the stock tune back in. It does not improve performance or fuel economy.
__________________
2003 F-150 XL RCSB 2wd 4.2 M5OD 3.55 LS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2011, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Vehicle: 2007 Ford F150
Posts: 38
yall think it would be ok to run the k&n in the stock housing sucking tthrough the side wall?" i know it worked fine like that and then i bought the full k&n kit and all went wrong =) screw u k&n! lol
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-18-2011, 08:13 PM
glc glc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Joplin MO
Vehicle: 2003 Ford F150
Posts: 29,075
Do the mod to the stock airbox and put a paper filter in it.
__________________
2003 F-150 XL RCSB 2wd 4.2 M5OD 3.55 LS
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-19-2011, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Vehicle: 2007 Ford F150
Posts: 38
after hunting through every junkyard intown i finnaly got a full stock airbox back in i am currently runing the k&n filter in it without the gotts/dwv mod and the chip and everything seem to be running fine now
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:12 PM
JackandJanet's Avatar
Global Moderator &
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Among javelinas and scorpions in Zoniestan
Vehicle: 2005 Ford F150
Posts: 5,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisj_1986 View Post
after hunting through every junkyard intown i finnaly got a full stock airbox back in i am currently runing the k&n filter in it without the gotts/dwv mod and the chip and everything seem to be running fine now
Good work, Chris! As I told you in your other thread (if you oil the filter properly), you'll probably have no further problems.

- Jack
__________________

2005 KR 4x4 SCrew 5.4, "Gott's" style CAI, PHP Gryphon CTS Tuned
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle: 2006 Ford F-150 FX4
Posts: 85
I am using the big jlt air filter and I have oiled it twice now with no problems dirtying the the maf.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:53 PM
88racing's Avatar
Technical Article Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In the fast lane from LA to Tokyo...
Vehicle: 2002 FORD/HD #04417
Posts: 10,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzpilot View Post
I am using the big jlt air filter and I have oiled it twice now with no problems dirtying the the maf.
You'll probably need to clean your MAF and TB every 15k....you've probably been lucky so far....
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:53 PM


 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.





This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. FordŽ is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
 
Contact Us Advertising Privacy Statement Terms of Service Jobs Forum Text Archives
Emails & Contact Details