Pro Racer Software Is In

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2006, 08:12 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Pro Racer Software Is In

On Thursday, I received my Pro Racer Software, received the license keys on Friday, and have begun working with it over the weekend. Very cool. Now.... I see why Mike Troyer is so so so insistent that we datalog. I spent nearly an entire day setting up tunes, researching, testing, and logging. Over an over again. I am almost back at WOT where I was with the Troyer XCAL2 tune. I am up to about 395 ft/lb @5250 RPM into the torque converter as compared to 414 @5250 RPM with Mike's tune. The difference is I am still running a little lean at WOT. I am sure; however, that he has this down to a science while I am just learning. Fortunately I had some logs for comparison from Mike's tune. Tomorrow, I hope to nail this down.

What I have not yet duplicated and hope I do not is the 0 to 40 issues I experienced in the past. You may recall, I was very very pleased with the WOT response; but, not very happy at all while trying to manage my truck. My attempts to keep the truck at 65 MPH were routinely greeted with either 2000 or 3000 RPM surges. Very annoying. This is completely gone. My truck now feels lighter off the line and accelerates much better from a standstill under part throttle.

Next up I will be setting up a program to run E85 Ethanol. Not 90% Gas 10% Ethanol; but, 85% Ethanol, 15% Gas. 105 Octane. If I get this right, I ought to be able to make more horsepower and equal my current fuel economy. That is if I can keep my foot out of it.

Last thing. Please don't ask me for 0-60 or 1/4 mile times. I have no interest in that data. Maybe, next spring, after I add the Whipple, I might think about it. For now, I react based upon data from the logging and seat of the pants feel.

Life is good.

Last edited by tschaid; 06-10-2006 at 08:14 PM.
Old 06-11-2006, 05:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
tschaid;