Let's wake this section up! 2015 Taurus SEL AWD detail and prodcut review.

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2015, 07:33 PM

Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Let's wake this section up! 2015 Taurus SEL AWD detail and product review.

This section has been in a deep slumber. Time for a detail and a product review. As some of you know, I was good to my word years ago that my truck would no longer be a daily driver. I've owned the car for just over two months and really have enjoyed it. All my basic protection mods are done except the clear bra and wet okles. I finally had a chance to do a detail and try put a few products that will hopefully work out and make life easier. I consider myself above average for detailing. Not a professional but knowledgeable more than the majority and I think the condition of my truck at 11 years old backs that up.

First off wash the good old wash and clay. I wash it with my usual Meguiars shampoo and my orange foam gun. I've been using it for around 4 years now and find it quite helpful to presoak to loosen things up. I use the two bucket method when washing. Both buckets have Grit-Guards™ to keep the debris trapped at the bottom.
DSC01175 by Jaldo24, on Flickr
DSC01182 by Jaldo24, on FlickrDSC01178 by Jaldo24, on Flickr
DSC01177 by Jaldo24, on Flickr

Once that was done I began claying. I have found the Meguiars Mild clay from the professional line is great for my needs. A bit more aggressiveness than the consumer line but not enough to cause crazy marring.

DSC01180 by Jaldo24, on Flickr

The ONR makes a great clay lube and the Zep spray bottles from Home Depot have been great and durable. I did an quick Iso-alcohol wipe down after.

DSC01183 by Jaldo24, on Flickr

DSC01176 by Jaldo24, on Flickr

Griot's Garage wheel clay was put to use on the wheels. Really did a nice job cleaning them. It was the first time I used it and did the job.

DSC01181 by Jaldo24, on FlickrFlickr
DSC01184 by Jaldo24, on Flickr