Tire Shine

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2014, 10:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tire Shine

Okay, so I've been using tire shine on all of my vehicles for the past ten years or so. However today I was advised by my local Ford dealer to stop, because it was causing premature cracking on the sidewalls of my tires. So my ultimate question is, what can I do to preserve tires and keep them looking nice when I clean the truck. Thank you in advanced.

Old 08-07-2014, 12:43 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Doesn't sound right.......

Old 08-07-2014, 01:35 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Were you using a petroleum based tire dressing?

It certainly will cause premature cracking and dry rot issues.

Switch to a water based dressing with UV blockers in it. That way you can keep em looking good without the bad stuff happening.

Old 08-08-2014, 12:03 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Megs Hyper Dressing is the bomb!

Old 08-08-2014, 01:44 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by KingRanchCoy
Megs Hyper Dressing is the bomb!
Meg's HD is good for bumper covers, valance, trim etc but I don't use it for my tires.. Washes off too easily.. You should try a tire gel like Poorboys or DP's for better longer lasting results..

Old 08-08-2014, 04:29 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by tg150
Meg's HD is good for bumper covers, valance, trim etc but I don't use it for my tires.. Washes off too easily.. You should try a tire gel like Poorboys or DP's for better longer lasting results..
um, thats strange. Ive used it for a couple years now and tires still look the same after a week or two. I always clean the tires well before spraying the HD on..

Old 08-08-2014, 06:57 PM
Water based ones will not do any harm.

Even with the petroleum based ones, your tires will wear one before there are any of the problems the dealer was referring to.

Old 09-03-2014, 11:28 PM
Received 45 Likes on 44 Posts
Water based ones will not do any harm.