Wax Question

Old 07-26-2009, 08:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wax Question

Guys...could use some advice. I unfortunately have no garage and shade at my house is obsolete after 8am. For the most part, I wash early in the mornings....then drive 2 miles up the road to a church that has a really large tree in the parking lot. I do my detailing there, out of the son.

My question is two-fold. One, are there any issues with waxing or detailing under a tree, considering it is not a pine tree or other type of tree that drops lots of debris (not sure what kind it is)? And 2, do you think I'm getting enough dirt on my paint within that 2 mile drive to generate scratches or swirling when I wax or QD?

Any help is appreciated.

Old 07-26-2009, 09:09 AM
Technical Article Contributor

I'm not a detailing pro....
but in my opinion...no and no.
The waxing will remove any slight dust that might get on the clearcoat.
Better to wax in the shade....

Many people on these detailing threads talk about working on the "paint".
Unless your truck has a deep scratch, you're only dealing with the clear-coat.
Although the same processes and steps apply.

Old 07-26-2009, 09:45 AM
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
If it were me, I'd probably use a "quick detail" product of some kind after your drive over to the shady location. It only takes a few minutes and would help rid the paint surface of anything you might have picked up on the short ride over to your detailing spot.

Old 07-26-2009, 10:26 AM
Why don't you purchase one of those car sheds from Autozone. Both of your questions would be a no for me but if its all you have to work with then its all you have to work with.

Old 07-26-2009, 11:04 AM
I've thought about a shed or awning but don't really have room for one w/out asking my neighbor to cut down a tree. I also thought about the QD per ddellwo's advice. That's probably the way to go....just to ensure I have a clean surface to work with.