Microfiber. I don't see the big whoop?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2004, 12:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Microfiber. I don't see the big whoop?

First let me explain that I have been detailing my cars/trucks for over 20 years. I'm also a pretty diehard Meguiar's and Griot's user.

So I decided to try some microfiber towels that everyone seems to be raving about. Not just here, but on several of the auto forums. So I bought a 3 pack, oh about 6 months ago. Can't remember the brand, but they were not cheapies.

Haven't really tried them before for wax removal, only for cleaning glass (whick they work pretty well). But my last session with the wax, I tried to use the microfiber towel to remove the dried wax. Whoooooa! I just about blew out my elbows rubbing so hard and it sill didn't remove all the wax. Grabbed one of my trusty cotton terry towels and the wax came off without a hitch.

I'm willing to try this again. Heck, everyone keeps raving about these things, so there must be something to them. But what am I doing wrong? Maybe I need to get better/different microfiber towels? Or are they really only good for buffing and not wax removal.

Old 06-30-2004, 02:14 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It took me awhile to make the switch also so don't worry. You kind of have to have products that are matched for microfiber. Now that I've got the products and towels I couldn't go back to towels and I'm also a pro detailer.

What kind of wax were you using?

Since you've been detailing awhile you probably understand the difference in the cutting action of different buffer pads. I find that towels are somewhat the same.
They are awesome at picking up waxes that either have a very thin coating or are very oily. Like taking off a glaze that can leave streaks of oil or a wax that you take off wet (P21S or S100). They're excellent for that. Awesome for taking off finger prints when you're inspecting the car before giving it back to the customer.