Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

Alignment-How to DIY

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2010, 04:02 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alignment-How to DIY

Note: Im a n00b to these forums. Mods, if you feel this serves a better purpose elsewhere, please move it there.

Preface: Your alignment is one of, if not the most critical piece of the puzzle when it comes to how your car or truck drives on a daily basis. Things such as camber, caster, toe and thrust angle all play a big part in making your car or truck track, accelerate, turn and stop like it needs to.

So with that said, and 600 miles on the odometer of my 2010 F150 King Ranch, I tackled the alignment today.

Disclaimer: Ive been aligning my own cars for about 10 years now. Id say Ive gotten fairly good at it by this point. I did this entire procedure today in less than 1hr and 15 minutes, and that included picture time. I have never ruined a set of tires that I didnt intentionally ruin, and those were mainly slicks or autocross dedicated sets.

That said, you can seriously shorten the life of your tires by doing this procedure incorrectly. I cant be held responsible for this. Anyone attempting this procedure should have some basic mechanical knowledge.

Ok, now that we have that out of the way, ONWARD!

Things you will need:
Basic mechanical knowledge, as previously mentioned
Basic understanding of geometry
Track width for your particular model vehicle. As I have a 2010, I found mine here:
http://www.fordvehicles.com/trucks/f150/specifications/
Four jackstands:

Fishing line:

A finely graduated ruler. This machinists ruler is what I use:

Four vinyl tiles. These can be found at Lowes or the like for cheap:

A 15mm and 24mm wrench:

A flat driveway generally helps as well, but we will get to that.

Optional equipment:
A digital level never hurts
Liquid patience:

Continued in next post...

Old 05-30-2010, 04:03 PM

Procedure: