Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

Gear Swap Write Up Rev. 1

Old 07-15-2008, 05:45 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gear Swap Write Up Rev. 1

I have done a write-up on how to switch out the ring and pinion in a Ford 9.75 rear end.

I am not qualified to do this write up however I did mine and it wasn't too hard. I haven't had any problems after 15K on my new gears. And it seems to be a lot of interest in this topic so this is better than nothing.

I don't claim to be an expert so if anyone has any improvements or comments please let me know.

This can be a work in progress!

Old 07-15-2008, 05:46 PM

Instructions for switching gears in a Ford 9.75” rear end
These instructions may not be complete-----Use these instructions at your own risk!!!!!!!!!
I am not a professional. I have only done this twice in my life but I have been running my 4:88s for about 15K miles now with no problems.
I am doing this from memory so be aware. Plus some bolt sizes I reference will be wrong.
Do not blame me if you screw up your truck!!!!!!!!!!!

Also attached are the instructions that come with Yukon Gears. This will give you some info that I left out like checking the pattern, etc.

1. Remove cover. This can be more difficult than you would think. The OEM gasket maker is VERY strong and you want to be very careful so you don’t damage/bend the cover otherwise it will be hard to get to seal up when you put it back on.

I found that the best thing to use is a 1-1.5inch putty knife. Jam that behind the cover and use a hammer to move it around the cover and cut the gasket until you can pull off the cover. (cuss as the rear end fluid splashes all over you and your floor) Clean up everything as good as possible. Inside the housing and outside on the floor and such.

2. Remove tires, brake calipers, and rotors.