Articles & How-To's *NOW WITH VIDEO SECTION!*

How-to Blackout / Tint your Tail Lights

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2009, 05:21 PM
Technical Article Contributor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How-to Blackout / Tint your Tail Lights

How to Blackout/Smoke/Tint your F150 tail lights. People were asking how I tinted my tail lights so I decided to make another how-to (btw I am not a pro at this, this is just how I learned/researched how to tint). This mod is a little easier than painting your headlights.
Be aware of your local laws, in Louisiana your tail light reflector must be visible from 30 feet. You might also want to add some sort of additional brake lighting to your vehicle after doing this mod, to insure that the vehicles behind you can safely see when you're braking.

Supplies:
-masking tape
-Windex
-Razor Blade
-Palmovile dish soap
-VHT Nite Shades
-Clearcoat (recommend taking to paint shop)
-800, 1500 grit sand paper
-Bucket or small ice chest
-Polishing Compound
-Squirt bottle

Name:  CIMG0987.jpg
Views: 1233
Size:  25.6 KB
*Notice reflector is visible*

Old 01-13-2009, 05:27 PM

Step 1: With your tail lights and third brake light removed from your vehicle, remove the bulbs and cover the bulb holes with masking tape to prevent moisture from getting inside your tail light.Thoroughly clean the tail lights with Windex.

Step 2: You need to fill your bucket or ice chest with water and few drops of Palmolive dish soap (Palmolive removes the oil from your hands which will affect the lights when they are painted). Get your 800 grit sand paper and start sanding your lights evenly. Be sure that your tail lights are always moist with your soap water, when ever plastic grit accumulates use your squirt bottle to spray it away then clean your sandpaper off in the soap water. (Don't forget you don't want any water in the lights, it's a pain to get the moister out). Once the lights are very very hard to see through, you are ready to move on.