New Bee Amp Wiring question

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2007, 12:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Bee Amp Wiring question

hey Guys,

I was wondering if anyone had any intructions or tips as to how to wire a amp to the factory stereo on a 04 Lariat. I am pretty new at this stuff and I am trying to decide between doing the project myself or hiring a pro. Thanks in advance.

Old 05-01-2007, 01:59 PM
Old 05-01-2007, 03:34 PM
Your the man Impact9. Thanks......again.

Well I guess what I am asking is on the back of the factory head unit, Are their pre amp outputs or will I need to cut one end off the RCA cables that come with the wiring kit and splice into the left/right speaker wires?

Last edited by BigBlack27; 05-01-2007 at 04:22 PM.
Old 05-01-2007, 05:52 PM
The factory HU does not have pre-outs. If your amp will accept speaker-level inputs, then that's the ticket. If not, buy a line-level converter and make it happen. Don't splice the RCA's with anything. You won't even be using them. Just run unshielded speaker cable all the way back to your amp from the HU, or tag on at the door speakers. If you do end up making a home run to the HU, run down the opposite side of the cab from your power wire, if possible.

Old 05-03-2007, 03:51 PM
So.... I could just disconnect the rear speakers and run those wires to the speaker level input on the amp. From what I have been reading it seems like I realy only want to use the front speakers anyways, correct? That way I would only have to tap into the "turn-on-wire" behind the stock head unit.

Would any of you guys have a diagram and or pictures of the back of the stock head unit? im just a litle worried about finding the right wire. I know its usually blue, but it was my understanding that Ford doesnt keep this standard across all vehicles. Also do you have any tips on finding the rear speaker wires?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-03-2007, 04:02 PM