Cab Corner Rust Repair - Any Suggestions?

Old 06-03-2011, 03:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cab Corner Rust Repair - Any Suggestions?

Well I'm kinda new at this rust repair on my truck. I was hoping to find some cab corners so I could just cut this out and weld in a new piece but I can't find any prefabbed corners. So now I'm kinda stuck. These angles are well a bit more than I really wanted to deal with. I was thinking I could just tack in a bead and slowly filling in the hole. But I wanted some input first.

Here's a pic of the damage ignore the rust eating navel jelly. Rock knocked the crap out of the corner days before I deployed and by the time I got back it ate through. Big hole is maybe the size of a quarter.

Old 06-03-2011, 05:49 PM
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
That's not too bad to fix....

pick up a piece of sheet metal, then cut out tha bad section in a nice square/straight line as possible.

Instead of trying to bend the whole piece out of a single, piece it together (off the truck of course), then trip to match the removed section & install.

or...check out the local salvage yard......it may be a little pricey but ....

Old 06-04-2011, 06:25 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post