can my F-150 pull this camper?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2011, 03:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
can my F-150 pull this camper?

Hello, I am a newbie when it comes to towing stuff and I have a question for anyone that can help. I have a 2008 ford F-150 V-6 stick shift. 4.6 I think is the engine. The GVWR on the door sticker is 6500lbs. I have a 30 foot travel trailer that has GVWR of 6200 on the campers info sticker. I'm not sure but I'm guessing this is what it weighs? Anyhow, I don't have a tow package just a bumper pull, which says 5,000lbs on it. do you think I can tow this for three hours and not burn up my clutch or tranny? Its mostly flat as I'm going from east texas to Louisiana in it. And I plan on taking it slow. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Old 02-10-2011, 03:40 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
You have the 4.2L. I have the same truck. I personally would not do it without at least a frame mounted hitch that's made to pull that weight. If you don't rip your bumper off, you'll probably bend it down a bit.

Your truck is definitely not made for this type of load. I guess you can try hooking it up and see how it feels. But like I said, I wouldn't recommend towing that weight on the bumper or with the 5 speed.

Old 02-10-2011, 03:59 PM
Thanks for the answer, yeah thats what I was kinda thinking, but I wasnt sure if they under rate the bumpers or not. Guess I'll have to figure something else out.

Old 02-10-2011, 04:20 PM
This is one of those "better safe than sorry" situations in my opinion. Don't risk the damage to your truck or the potential damage to other motorists if your bumper suffers catastrophic failure under load at highway speeds.

Old 02-10-2011, 05:23 PM

The only way to do this is with a frame mounted hitch. I have a frame mounted class III that's good to 6000# I tow a 6000# trailer a few miles across town with it once and a while and my truck does a good job.

Get a Class IV frame mounted hitch. They should be good to 12000#.