2004 - 2008 F-150

Shift Interlock Issues

Old 10-13-2010, 03:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shift Interlock Issues

Have an '05 F150. Unable to get out of park. Have checked the fuses and brake lights, all are good. Have read a few posts indicating the stoplamp switch may be the issue. Replaced the switch and the issues continues. Any ideas. Thanks.

Old 10-13-2010, 03:18 PM
Had similar on a Honda Accord (GF's) few years back. It was the brake lockout/safety switch. Had a manual over ride. Could be your prob. I'm still learning F150 right now though.

David

Old 10-13-2010, 05:59 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Shoyt
Have an '05 F150. Unable to get out of park. Have checked the fuses and brake lights, all are good. Have read a few posts indicating the stoplamp switch may be the issue. Replaced the switch and the issues continues. Any ideas. Thanks.
Hey Shoy, I had the same issue a while ago. It's the shift interlock solenoid/actuator. It's a piece that fits onto the driver side of the shifter, in the flow through console.

Ford will want $400 + labor or some ridiculous price like that. You can order the part from TascaFordParts.com (1-800-915-3141 Ask for Domenic) and it'll run you about $75. It's easy to replace even if you're an idiot like me.

I will try my best to answer any additional questions you may have.

Thanks,
Anthony

Old 10-15-2010, 02:18 PM
Anthony,

Tasca had to order the part. Will take a couple of days. Will wait and see. Appreciate the help.

Shannon

Old 10-27-2010, 11:34 PM
It works!

Anthony,
It worked. Appreciate the information. Took a little while to install just because I took my time. Not the most mechanically inclined individual so if I can do it, anyone can. Again, thanks for the info. By the way, Tasco Ford was great. Price was unbelievable.

Old 11-08-2010, 06:29 AM