1997 - 2003 F-150

Problems changing EGR Valve

Old 03-15-2010, 10:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Problems changing EGR Valve

First off i am far from an experienced mechanic, however after reading up on the process of changing the EGR Valve i decided this was a job surely i could tackle. However, after removing all the nuts and bolts and making it to the very last bolt, i cannot get it to budge, it seems to be seized and cannot break it free. I will post pictures of what i am talking about. i am looking for suggestions on how to remove this bolt so i can replace the EGR Valve. This is the bolt that i cannot get unstuck, it is located mid pic and is sticking out directly from under the Valve Cap.
Name:  IMG00363.jpg
Views: 1089
Size:  48.7 KB

Old 03-16-2010, 01:37 PM
I used a 10mm deep socket and it snapped free... in two pieces. Ended up taking the elbow to a machine shop to get them to drill the bolt out. I hope you can get it free without breaking it. Have you tried spraying some penetrating lubricant?

Old 03-16-2010, 02:35 PM
Just as i feared, i have sprayed it with WD40 however didn't see any kind results. I hope i can get this off in one piece this evening, i have one of my buddy's coming over her take a look are it. Thanks

Old 03-16-2010, 04:44 PM
glc
Received 754 Likes on 700 Posts
WD-40 is not a good penetrating oil - try PB Blaster or Seafoam Deep Creep.

Old 03-16-2010, 06:46 PM
I second the use of PB Blaster or Seafoam Deep Creep. Just spray them and wait awhile ( the hardest part...usually) sometimes it takes multiple spraying s but patience is key. Just spray once then go find something on tv come back in 30 mins if it still won't budge spray again and find something else to watch for a bit....rinse and repeat until it's out. Some times some things need to sit over night some times 2 mins but patience is key. No patience = broken bolt = bigger pain in the rear.

Old 03-16-2010, 07:31 PM
Global Moderator &

Received 134 Likes on 112 Posts